Sao Tome and Principe Coach Adriano Eusébio Unveils 23-man for AFCON Qualifiers Against Super Eagles


São Tomé and Príncipe’s national football team, under the guidance of head coach Adriano Eusébio, has revealed their provisional squad consisting of 23 players, reports.

This announcement comes ahead of their upcoming Group A 2023 AFCON qualifiers against Nigeria’s national team, the Super Eagles.

For this challenge, where São Tomé and Príncipe will look for their first victory in the group, after four defeats and a draw, and the consequent last place, the national coach, Adriano Eusébio, called 22 players, with the curiosity of everyone playing outside the country.

The fact deserved the protest of some clubs, who reacted with astonishment, remembering that this is the first time in the history of São Tomé football, no player who plays in domestic championships is on the guest list.

Adriano Eusébio justified the absence of the “nationals” (players who play in the main national competitions) with the fact that the call-up is a preview for the next qualifying games for the World Championship.

“This call is already thinking about the World Cup qualifying games that start in November, we have to take into account that, at this time, we will not have championships in the country and the players will be in vacation mode”.

Eusébio added that, with the growing wave of emigration, the team lost the base core that was made up of players who played in the main national championships, so, in the need to build a team of continuity and that provides guarantees, it turned 100% to the diaspora .

It should be noted that the second game ever between the two countries, where in the first, the São Tomé team was beaten 10-0, will be at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo.

GOALKEEPERS:Ronaldo Silva, Pedro Mateus, Feher Mendes

DEFENDERS: Adjakson Ramos, Rogério Fernandes, Elias Varela, Adjeil Neves, Lúcio Oliveira, Leonildo Soares, Auleocarcio Sacramento

MIDFIELDERS: Ricardo Fernandes, Aldair Cruz, Denilson Silva, Marco Paulo, Ebanilson Viegas, Luís Selemane, Geoxking C. Alegre, Edmilson Viegas

FORWARDS: Luís Leal, Ronaldo Afonso, Valter Rocha, Ricardo Cardoso, Martins dos Santos

Leave a Reply